Holger Danske Hotel

Christiansted, St. Croix USVI

St. Croix History

St. Croix is the largest of the US Virgin Islands, 28 x 7 miles wide with the capital, Charlotte Amalie, located in Saint Thomas. Colonized by Spain, Great Britain, The Netherlands, France, the Knights of Malta, Denmark and the United States, St. Croix has flown 7 different flags and is noted for its rich and diverse history.

The original inhabitants of the island were the Arawaks and Caribs. The Arawaks were a peaceful people whereas the Caribs where known for their fierce looks and war-like behavior. When Christopher Columbus visited the Island in 1493, this lead to a war between the Spaniards and Caribs that lasted for over a century until the Island was abandoned by Spain.

Occupied by the Dutch, English, French then Denmark, it was finally sold to the United States in 1917 for 25 million dollars in gold.

Photos courtesy of St. Croix Tourism